Mechanical Keyboard Recommendations?

I’m well versed in mechanical keyboards and I already have one, but I’m specifically looking for a minimalistic 75%/80% one, either with red or brown switches.

Any recommendations? Ideally something on the cheaper end, but I’m fine either way.

Ducky One? I have no experience with that brand but they seem very solid and compact. Pretty expensive though, unfortunately.

Alternatively, you can opt to go for a Cooler Master (second hand). I’ve been rocking one for over half a decade and it’s absolutely solid (e.g. this one).

1 Like

Pardon my noobness, is the switch color anything other than aesthetic?

Cherry MX colors indicate noise level and how easy/hard it is to press … I myself prefer Topre switches :slight_smile:

2 Likes

3 Likes

I have a Redragon keyboard from Amazon and it has mostly been fine. I had to replace a few switches already (less than a year in), but I also tend to be pretty hard on keys.

1 Like

Redragon keyboards are actually surprisingly good for the price.

Yeah, my friend has a Quick Fire Rapid which is beautiful. I’m tempted to go for that :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

I had a Corsair that was much more expensive previously and multiple keys, including the spacebar, started double pressing every time I pressed them within 6 months, and I don’t think they were replaceable.

Not really a fan of logitech products, BUT my G610 orion brown I’d buy again in an instant. No need though because it’s going strong for over two years now - recommended!

1 Like

Nice! Unfortunately though, it’s a 100% keyboard rather than a < 80% :stuck_out_tongue:

True. Sorry, I totally missed that part :man_facepalming:t2:

Using a 60% cherry red switch :stuck_out_tongue:
Had play with blue and linear. My final answer is 60% red.