Differences in systems

I am a beginner in Linux and have had a preliminary experience with Debian and Ubuntu systems, especially without a GUI. I am unable to distinguish the difference between these two systems. Can a kind-hearted expert explain it in a simple and understandable way?

Not that many. Ubuntu is after all based on Debian. If you can get around Debian, you will be able to switch to Ubuntu no problem.

Ubuntu has some additional stuff that theoretically should ease the management (though, it will give you some headaches at the beginning). Some of the things include:

• netplan (on Debian your configure networking using /etc/interfaces and ifup/ifdown, on Ubuntu you have to edit files in /etc/netplan and use netplan apply
  • systemd is used for DNS (on Debian you directly edit /etc/resolv.conf, on Ubuntu that file is generated by systemd. You gotta play with it to figure out where systemd configuration is stored)
  • Ubuntu likes to setup filesystem with LVM by default. You have to learn where it makes sense and where it adds unneccessary complexity

Edit: Generally, when working with Ubuntu you can assume that you are working with Debian. Ubuntu has left hints on the different things. When you start editing typical Debian files you will see comments like this file is generated by XYZ, do not modify it directly.

2 Likes

Debian and Ubuntu are both popular Linux distributions with some similarities and differences. They are related to each other, as Ubuntu is based on Debian, but they have different goals and target audiences. Here’s a simple explanation of the main differences:

1. Release cycle: Debian has a slower release cycle, with new stable versions coming out approximately every 2 years. Ubuntu, on the other hand, has a faster release cycle, with new versions released every 6 months. There’s also an LTS (Long Term Support) release every 2 years, which is supported for 5 years.